top of page

Faculty

ADMINISTRATION

Rabbi Yerachmiel Garfield, Ed.D.

Head of School

ygarfield@ytehouston.org

 

In 2010, Rabbi Yerachmiel Garfield moved to Houston to lead YTE. Having grown up in Pennsylvania, Rabbi Garfield continued his rabbinic studies after high school. He studied for four years in Jerusalem, under the tutelage of Rabbi Zvi Kushelevsky. After, he relocated to Baltimore, MD, where he earned a Bachelor of Talmudic Law from Ner Israel Rabbinical College. He received Smicha from Rabbi Berel Wein, which completed his Rabbinic Ordination.

 

In 2001, Rabbi Garfield moved with his young family to Atlanta. He began teaching ninth grade in the newly founded Yeshiva Ohr Yisrael, where he would eventually become the assistant principal. Rabbi Garfield received the Jewish Federation’s "Educator of the Year" award in 2006, representing all Jewish day schools in Atlanta. Concurrent to his teaching, Rabbi Garfield served for six years as the school counselor at the Torah Day School of Atlanta and as youth director at Congregation Ariel.

 

Rabbi Garfield holds a M.S. in Counseling and a Post-Masters Certificate in Supervision and Administration from Johns Hopkins University. He is also a Georgia state certified principal and has completed the Torah Umesorah National Fellowship for Principals program. He holds a Doctorate in Education from the University of Houston. 

 

Rabbi Garfield has presented at the Torah Umesorah’s National Educators Conference and has written for Hamodia, a national Jewish newspaper. During the summer Rabbi Garfield returns to Baltimore where he serves as an adjunct professor at Johns Hopkins University, School of Education.

MosheSegelman (1)-2.PNG

Rabbi Moshe Segelman

Menahel- Boys

msegelman@ytehouston.org

 

Rabbi Moshe Segelman is an alumnus of Yeshiva Gedolah of Cliffwood where he studied under R’ Shimon Alster shlit''a for 9 years, whom he still keeps a close relationship with. He then joined Bais Medrash Mayan Hatorah in Lakewood as a Shol U’meishiv and Rosh Chabura, and served as a mentor for the boys as well. He went on to teach 7th and 8th grade in Politz Hebrew Academy for 5 years, where he also served as the Assistant Principal for the boys division. He also directed a camp in the greater Philadelphia area during the summers.

Mrs. Melissa Truelove

General Studies Principal

mtruelove@ytehouston.org

 

 

Mrs. Melissa Truelove joined Yeshiva Torat Emet in 2017. She has over 15 years of experience in education. She holds a bachelor’s degree in Psychology from the University of Arizona and an M.Ed. from Northern Arizona University in Educational Leadership. Mrs. Truelove started her career as a teacher for 10 years at Tucson Hebrew Academy in Arizona. She has taught many elementary and middle school grades and subjects, for which she has received multiple national awards. Mrs. Truelove is passionate about many aspects of education, including: curriculum development, instructional coaching, data-driven instruction, and presenting professional development workshops.

Mrs. Esti Littman

Early Childhood Director

elittman@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Esti Littman joined the staff of YTE in 2011 as a teacher, and now serves as director of the early childhood program. Since 1997, Mrs. Littman has taught children with varying learning styles and abilities in integrated preschool classrooms, dedicated resource rooms, and traditional environments. She also served as an administrator at the renowned School for Children with Hidden Intelligence (SCHI) in Lakewood, NJ. Mrs. Littman’s diverse educational experience reaching children on a wide range of developmental levels enriches her work at YTE.

Mrs. Littman graduated from Thomas Edison State College with a B.A. in Psychology and earned her M.S. in Special Education in 2001 from Adelphi University.

Rabbi Chaim Helprin

Assistant Principal, Limudei Kodesh- Boys

chelprin@ytehouston.org

Rabbi Chaim Helprin has worked in the field of education as a rebbe/teacher, student activities coordinator, and middle school coordinator since 2003. Rabbi Helprin learned in Yeshivas Chofetz Chaim for 10 years and received Smicha from Rabbi Zalman Nechemia Goldberg, Av Beth Din, Jerusalem. Rabbi Helprin holds a B.A. in Liberal Arts from Thomas Edison State College, Trenton NJ and a M.A. in Educational Administration from Grand Canyon University.

PXL_20220822_180924654.PORTRAIT.jpg

Mrs. Devorah Ouzzan

Assistant Principal, Limudei Kodesh- Girls

5th Grade Girls Limudei Kodesh

douzzan@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Devorah Ouzzan began her teaching career as an Early Childhood teacher in Toronto, Canada. She holds a Bachelors Degree from Waterloo University with a focus in social development studies. She has called Houston home since 2013 and has found her passion working as a Judaic studies teacher for both elementary and upper school grades at YTE. 

IMAGE_COMING_SOON.jpg

Rabbi Yisroel Shulman

Executive Director

yshulman@ytehouston.org

Rabbi Shulman was a student at Yeshiva Gedola of Passaic, which is under the leadership of Rev Meir Stern, and then at Beth Medrash Govoha in Lakewood, NJ.  In September 2020 he moved to Houston with his family to join the Kollel of Houston, and the Shulmans quickly became integral members of the Houston Jewish community.  After 3 successful years in the Kollel of Houston, Rabbi Shulman is excited about his next step.  He values and is passionate about the importance of education, and looks forward to becoming a partner in building the future of Houston's children.

ADMINISTRATIVE STAFF AND STUDENT SUPPORT STAFF
 

Mrs. Joanna Pines

Director of Development

jpines@ytehouston.org

IMAGE_COMING_SOON.jpg

Ms. Azriela Hicks

Receptionist

receptionist@ytehouston.org

IMG_1141.jpg

Mrs. Dina Jakubowicz

Early Childhood

Administrative Assistant

djakubowicz@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Faige Grossman

Student Support Coordinator

fgrossman@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Eisenberger.jpg

Mrs. Aviva Eisenberger

Kriah Support 

aeisenberger@ytehouston.org

IMG_1220.jpg

Mrs. Avigayil Biron

Administrative Assistant

abiron@ytehouston.org

Rabbi Gewirtz.jpg

Rabbi Dovid Gewirtz

School Administrator

dgewirtz@ytehouston.org

PXL_20220823_173022814_edited.jpg

Mrs. Ruthy Solaimani

Student Support Specialist (Grades 6th-8th)

rsolaimani@ytehouston.org

Mrs.MiriamLitvintchouk.jpg

Mrs. Miriam Litvinchouk

Ivrit Coordinator

1st Grade Boys and Girls and

3rd Grade Boys and Girls Ivrit

mlitvinchouk@ytehouston.org

Ms. Tish Neff

Office Manager

tneff@ytehouston.org

IMAGE_COMING_SOON.jpg

Ms. Ciarra Fuerst

General Studies Administrative Assistant

cfuerst@ytehouston.org

IMAGE_COMING_SOON.jpg

Mrs. Michal Soussan

Upper School Girls programming

8th Grade Girls Limudei Kodesh

msoussan@ytehouston.org

2022–2023 FACULTY
MiriamAlbaz.jpg

Ms. Miriam Albaz

2nd and 3rd Grade Girls

Limudei Kodesh

malbaz@ytehouston.org

IMAGE_COMING_SOON.jpg

Mrs. Batya Berger

Nursery B

bberger@ytehouston.org

IMAGE_COMING_SOON.jpg

Mrs. Kate Adler

Kindergarten C

General Studies

kadler@ytehouston.org

RabbiBiron2.JPG

Rabbi Dovid Biron

7th Grade Boys

Limudei Kodesh

dbiron@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Elisa Behar.jpg

Mrs. Elisa Behar

Toddlers A

ebehar@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Elisheva Bresler2 (2).jpg

Mrs. Elisheva Bresler

Pre-K C

ebresler@ytehouston.org

Rabbi Aaron Berger

8th Grade Boys
Limudei Kodesh

aberger@ytehouston.org

Ms. Miri Brookhim

Tiny Toddlers C

mbrookhim@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Shira Buchwald

Early Childhood Assistant Director

sbuchwald@ytehouston.org

Naomi Brach.JPG

Mrs. Naomi Brach

Tiny Toddlers A

nbrach@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Orly Fuerst.jpg

Mrs. Orly Fuerst

6th- 8th Grade Boys and 7th- 8th Grade Girls Language Arts

ofuerst@ytehouston.org

PXL_20211122_145022829.MP.JPG

Mr. Chris Fagbayi

5th- 8th Grade Boys and 6th- 8th Grade Girls Science

cfagbayi@ytehouston.org

IMAGE_COMING_SOON.jpg

Ms. Cindy Bunch

4th Grade Boys and Girls General Studies

cbunch@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Gewirtz.jpg

Mrs. Chevi Gewirtz

2nd Grade Girls General Studies

cgewirtz@ytehouston.org

Rabbi Binyamin Goetz

1st Grade Boys Limudei Kodesh

bgoetz@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Chaviva Granitsky

Upper School Girls Limudei Kodesh

cgranitsky@ytehouston.org

MrsChavyGruman.jpg

Mrs. Chavy Gruman

5th Grade Girls General Studies

cgruman@ytehouston.org

Rabbi Eliezer Kessler

3rd Grade Boys A & B
Limudei Kodesh

ekessler@ytehouston.org

RabbiMordechaiKaye.jpg

Rabbi Mordechai Kaye

6th Grade Girls Limudei Kodesh, Gemara Support

mkaye@ytehouston.org

PXL_20220822_180855304.PORTRAIT-2.jpg

Mrs. Riva Korn

Kindergarten Limudei Kodesh

rkorn@ytehouston.org

Mrs.ShulamisKaye.jpg

Mrs. Shulamis Kaye

4th and 6th Grade Girls Limudei Kodesh

skaye@ytehouston.org

Mrs. ShawnaKullman-2.JPG

Mrs. Shawna Kullman

Kindergarten General Studies

skullman@ytehouston.org

SoriKellner2.jpg

Mrs. Sori Kellner

7th Grade Girls

Limudei Kodesh

skellner@ytehouston.org

RabbiEliLitvintchouk2.jpg

Rabbi Eli Litvintchouk

6th-8th Grade Boys and Girls Math

elitvintchouk@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Lisa Loewenthal.jpg

Mrs. Lisa Loewenthal

Nursery C

lloewenthal@ytehouston.org

DPinnock.jpg

Ms. Debra Pinnock

3rd Grade Boys and Girls General Studies

dpinnock@ytehouston.org

Caroline Milch2.PNG

Mrs. Caroline Miltch

Ivrit, 3rd Grade Boys

and 4th Grade Boys and Girls

cmiltch@ytehouston.org

IMAGE_COMING_SOON.jpg

Ms. Leah Ort

3rd Grade Girls Limudei Kodesh

lort@ytehouston.org

RabbiRafiMollot.jpg

Rabbi Rafi Mollot

2nd Grade Boys Limudei Kodesh

rmollot@ytehouston.org

IraShkore.jpg

Mrs. Ira Shkore

Tiny Toddlers B

ishkore@ytehouston.org

MrsTahliaMollot2.jpg

Mrs. Tahlia Mollot

6th- 8th Grade Girls Social Studies, 6th- 8th Grade Boys Social Studies

tmollot@ytehouston.org

Rabbi Moshe Stewart.jpg

Rabbi Moshe Stewart

5th Grade Boys
Limudei Kodesh

mstewart@ytehouston.org

IMAGE_COMING_SOON.jpg

Rabbi Azriel Jakubowicz

5th Grade Boys

Limudei Kodesh

ajakubowicz@ytehouston.org

IMAGE_COMING_SOON.jpg

Mrs. Ariela Miller

2nd Grade Boys General Studies 

amiller@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Fraydee Wender

1st Grade Limudei Kodesh

fwender@ytehouston.org

IMAGE_COMING_SOON.jpg

Mrs. Chevi Friedman

Kindergarten C

cfriedman@ytehouston.org

IMG_1166.jpg

Mrs. Jessica Toso

Pre-K B

jtoso@ytehouston.org

PXL_20220909_191555221.PORTRAIT.JPG

Mrs. Rivka Wiggins

Pre-K A

rwiggins@ytehouston.org

IMAGE_COMING_SOON.jpg

Mrs. Deborah Nestlebaum

7th Grade Girls Tefila and History

dnestlebaum@ytehouston.org

MrsBrown.jpg

Mrs. Hadassah Brown

Toddlers B

hbrown@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Chaya Yurowitz.jpg

Mrs. Chaya Liba Yurowitz

Nursery A

cyurowitz@ytehouston.org

IMAGE_COMING_SOON.jpg

Mrs. Temi Glazer

Nursery B

tglazer@ytehouston.org

Mr. Tyrone Tyson

5th Grade Boys Math, Social Studies, and Language Arts

ttyson@ytehouston.org

bottom of page