Faculty

ADMINISTRATION

Rabbi Yerachmiel Garfield, Ed.D.

Head of School

ygarfield@ytehouston.org

 

In 2010, Rabbi Yerachmiel Garfield moved to Houston to lead YTE. Having grown up in Pennsylvania, Rabbi Garfield continued his rabbinic studies after high school. He studied for four years in Jerusalem, under the tutelage of Rabbi Zvi Kushelevsky. After, he relocated to Baltimore, MD, where he earned a Bachelor of Talmudic Law from Ner Israel Rabbinical College. He received Smicha from Rabbi Berel Wein, which completed his Rabbinic Ordination.

 

In 2001, Rabbi Garfield moved with his young family to Atlanta. He began teaching ninth grade in the newly founded Yeshiva Ohr Yisrael, where he would eventually become the assistant principal. Rabbi Garfield received the Jewish Federation’s "Educator of the Year" award in 2006, representing all Jewish day schools in Atlanta. Concurrent to his teaching, Rabbi Garfield served for six years as the school counselor at the Torah Day School of Atlanta and as youth director at Congregation Ariel.

 

Rabbi Garfield holds a M.S. in Counseling and a Post-Masters Certificate in Supervision and Administration from Johns Hopkins University. He is also a Georgia state certified principal and has completed the Torah Umesorah National Fellowship for Principals program. He holds a Doctorate in Education from the University of Houston. 

 

Rabbi Garfield has presented at the Torah Umesorah’s National Educators Conference and has written for Hamodia, a national Jewish newspaper. During the summer Rabbi Garfield returns to Baltimore where he serves as an adjunct professor at Johns Hopkins University, School of Education.

Mrs. Esti Littman

Early Childhood Director

elittman@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Esti Littman joined the staff of YTE in 2011 as a teacher, and now serves as director of the early childhood program. Since 1997, Mrs. Littman has taught children with varying learning styles and abilities in integrated preschool classrooms, dedicated resource rooms, and traditional environments. She also served as an administrator at the renowned School for Children with Hidden Intelligence (SCHI) in Lakewood, NJ. Mrs. Littman’s diverse educational experience reaching children on a wide range of developmental levels enriches her work at YTE.

Mrs. Littman graduated from Thomas Edison State College with a B.A. in Psychology and earned her M.S. in Special Education in 2001 from Adelphi University.

Rabbi Chaim Helprin

Assistant Principal Upper School and Limudei Kodesh Curriculum Coordinator

chelprin@ytehouston.org

Rabbi Chaim Helprin has worked in the field of education as a rebbe/teacher, student activities coordinator, and middle school coordinator since 2003. Rabbi Helprin learned in Yeshivas Chofetz Chaim for 10 years and received Smicha from Rabbi Zalman Nechemia Goldberg, Av Beth Din, Jerusalem. Rabbi Helprin holds a B.A. in Liberal Arts from Thomas Edison State College, Trenton NJ and a M.A. in Educational Administration from Grand Canyon University.

Mrs Ouzzan 1.jpg

Mrs. Devorah Ouzzan

Girls Limudei Kodesh Coordinator/Upper School, 5th Grade Girls Limudei Kodesh

douzzan@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Devorah Ouzzan began her teaching career as an Early Childhood teacher in Toronto, Canada. She holds a Bachelors Degree from Waterloo University with a focus in social development studies. She has called Houston home since 2013 and has found her passion working as a Judaic studies teacher for both elementary and upper school grades at YTE. 

Mrs. Melissa Truelove

Assistant Principal Elementary School and General Studies Curriculum Coordinator, 8th Grade Girls Math

mtruelove@ytehouston.org

 

 

Mrs. Melissa Truelove has been involved in Jewish education for many years, having attended the Tucson Hebrew Academy originally as a student and over the past ten years as a teacher. She holds a Bachelors Degree from the University of Arizona with a focus on psychology and has taught multiple elementary school grades and subjects for which she has received multiple national awards.

Mrs. Truelove has also served in several leadership roles including curriculum development, leading teacher teams, presenting professional development workshops and mentoring new teachers. 

SUPPORT STAFF

Mrs. Joanna Pines

Director of Development

jpines@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Faige Grossman

Student Support Coordinator and 8th Grade Boys Math

fgrossman@ytehouston.org

Rabbi Gewirtz.jpg

Rabbi Dovid Gewirtz

School Administrator

dgewirtz@ytehouston.org

Ms. Tish Neff

Office Manager

tneff@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Inna Somorov

Receptionist

isomorov@ytehouston.org

2021–2022 FACULTY
ReenaAbrahams.jpg

Mrs. Reena Abrahams

6th Grade Girls and 8th Grade Girls Ivrit/Pirkei Avos

rabrahams@ytehouston.org

MiriamAlbaz.jpg

Ms. Miriam Albaz

2nd Grade Girls Limudei Kodesh and 5th Grade
Girls Ivrit

malbaz@ytehouston.org

Ms. GoldieAmsel2.jpg

Ms. Goldie Amsel

6th Grade Boys Math

gamsel@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Elisa Behar.jpg

Mrs. Elisa Behar

Toddlers A Lead Teacher

ebehar@ytehouston.org

Rabbi Aaron Berger

8th Grade Boys
Limudei Kodesh

aberger@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Elisheva Bresler2 (2).jpg

Mrs. Elisheva Bresler

Pre-K A Teacher

ebresler@ytehouston.org

Ms. Miri Brookhim

Tiny Toddlers B Lead Teacher

mbrookhim@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Hadassah Brown

Early Childhood - Nursery/
Aftercare Coordinator

hbrown@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Shira Buchwald

Early Childhood - Pre-K

sbuchwald@ytehouston.org

KChannell082020.jpg

Ms. Kayla Channell

Kindergarten General Studies

kchannell@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Eisenberger.jpg

Mrs. Aviva Eisenberger

Kriah Support 

aeisenberger@ytehouston.org

Ms. TrinaFreeman2.jpg

Ms. Trina Freeman

4th Grade Boys and Girls General Studies

tfreeman@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Gewirtz.jpg

Mrs. Chevi Gewirtz

1st Grade Girls General Studies

cgewirtz@ytehouston.org

Rabbi Binyamin Goetz

1st Grade Boys Limudei Kodesh

bgoetz@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Chaviva Granitsky

6th Grade Girls Limudei Kodesh; 7th Grade Girls Halacha and Pirkei Avos

cgranitsky@ytehouston.org

MrsChavyGruman.jpg

Mrs. Chavy Gruman

5th Grade Girls General Studies

cgruman@ytehouston.org

RabbiMordechaiKaye.jpg

Rabbi Mordechai Kaye

7th Grade Boys Navi,
Halacha, Chumash;
General Support for Gemara

mkaye@ytehouston.org

Mrs.ShulamisKaye.jpg

Mrs. Shulamis Kaye

3rd Grade and 4th Grade Girls Limudei Kodesh

skaye@ytehouston.org

SoriKellner2.jpg

Mrs. Sori Kellner

7th Grade Girls Limudei Kodesh

skellner@ytehouston.org

Rabbi Eliezer Kessler

3rd Grade Boys and 4th Grade
Limudei Kodesh

ekessler@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Riva Korn

Early Childhood - Kindergarten Limudei Kodesh

rkorn@ytehouston.org

RabbiDovidLieberman.jpg

Rabbi Dovid Lieberman

8th Grade Girls Halacha

dlieberman@ytehouston.org

RabbiEliLitvintchouk2.jpg

Rabbi Eli Litvintchouk

6th-8th Grade Boys and Girls Language Arts

elitvintchouk@ytehouston.org

Mrs.MiriamLitvintchouk.jpg

Mrs. Miriam Litvinchouk

Ivrit Coordinator, 1st Grade Boys and Girls and 2nd Grade Boys Ivrit

mlitvinchouk@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Lisa Loewenthal.jpg

Mrs. Lisa Loewenthal

Nursery C Teacher

lloewenthal@ytehouston.org

RabbiRafiMollot.jpg

Rabbi Rafi Mollot

2nd Grade Boys Limudei Kodesh; 2nd Grade Girls, 3rd Grade Boys and Girls, 4th Grade Boys and Girls Ivrit 

rmollot@ytehouston.org

MrsTahliaMollot2.jpg

Mrs. Tahlia Mollot

6th Grade Girls Science and Social Studies, 6th Grade Boys Social Studies

tmollot@ytehouston.org

Ms. GabbiOhaya.jpg

Ms. Gabbi Ohaya

2nd Grade General Studies

gohaya@ytehouston.org

DPinnock.jpg

Mrs. Debra Pinnock

3rd Grade General Studies

dpinnock@ytehouston.org

IraShkore.jpg

Mrs. Ira Shkore

Tiny Toddlers A Lead Teacher

ishkore@ytehouston.org

IMAGE_COMING_SOON.jpg

Mrs. Ruthy Solaimani

Student Support Specialist (Grades 6th-8th)

rsolaimani@ytehouston.org

IMAGE_COMING_SOON.jpg

Mrs. Michal Soussan

8th Grade Girls Limudei Kodesh, US Girls programming

msoussan@ytehouston.org

Rabbi Moshe Stewart.jpg

Rabbi Moshe Stewart

5th and 7th Grade Boys
Limudei Kodesh

mstewart@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Cady Timmons2.jpg

Mrs. Cady Timmons

1st Grade Boys General Studies 

ctimmons@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Cathy Tucker

Toddlers B Lead Teacher

ctucker@ytehouston.org

Mr. Tyrone Tyson

5th Grade Boys Math Social Studies and Language Arts; 8th Grade Boys Math; 7th and 8th Grade Boys Social Studies; 7th and 8th Grade Girls Social Studies

ttyson@ytehouston.org

IMAGE_COMING_SOON.jpg

Ms. Eileen Weinstein

6th Grade Girls Math,
7th Grade Boys and Girls Math

eweinstein@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Fraydee Wender

1st Grade Limudei Kodesh

fwender@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Christine Wilson.jpg

Mrs. Christine Wilson

Upper School Science

cwilson@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Chaya Yurowitz.jpg

Mrs. Chaya Liba Yurowitz

Early Childhood - Nursery

cyurowitz@ytehouston.org