11330 Braesridge Drive

Houston, Texas 77071

Phone  713-721-3900

Fax  713-721-3901

Email  office@ytehouston.org 

© 2019 Yeshiva Torat Emet

Yeshiva Torat Emet is proud to be affiliated with Torah Umesorah, The National Society for Hebrew Day Schools, and a beneficiary agency of the Jewish Federation of Greater Houston 

ACCREDITED BY

Faculty

ADMINISTRATION

Rabbi Yerachmiel Garfield, Ed.D.

Head of School

ygarfield@ytehouston.org

 

In 2010, Rabbi Yerachmiel Garfield moved to Houston to lead YTE. Having grown up in Pennsylvania, Rabbi Garfield continued his rabbinic studies after high school. He studied for four years in Jerusalem, under the tutelage of Rabbi Zvi Kushelevsky. After, he relocated to Baltimore, MD, where he earned a Bachelor of Talmudic Law from Ner Israel Rabbinical College. He received Smicha from Rabbi Berel Wein, which completed his Rabbinic Ordination.

 

In 2001, Rabbi Garfield moved with his young family to Atlanta. He began teaching ninth grade in the newly founded Yeshiva Ohr Yisrael, where he would eventually become the assistant principal. Rabbi Garfield received the Jewish Federation’s "Educator of the Year" award in 2006, representing all Jewish day schools in Atlanta. Concurrent to his teaching, Rabbi Garfield served for six years as the school counselor at the Torah Day School of Atlanta and as youth director at Congregation Ariel.

 

Rabbi Garfield holds a M.S. in Counseling and a Post-Masters Certificate in Supervision and Administration from Johns Hopkins University. He is also a Georgia state certified principal and has completed the Torah Umesorah National Fellowship for Principals program. He holds a Doctorate in Education from the University of Houston. 

 

Rabbi Garfield has presented at the Torah Umesorah’s National Educators Conference and has written for Hamodia, a national Jewish newspaper. During the summer Rabbi Garfield returns to Baltimore where he serves as an adjunct professor at Johns Hopkins University, School of Education.

Mrs. Esti Littman

Early Childhood Director

elittman@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Esti Littman joined the staff of YTE in 2011 as a teacher, and now serves as director of the early childhood program. Since 1997, Mrs. Littman has taught children with varying learning styles and abilities in integrated preschool classrooms, dedicated resource rooms, and traditional environments. She also served as an administrator at the renowned School for Children with Hidden Intelligence (SCHI) in Lakewood, NJ. Mrs. Littman’s diverse educational experience reaching children on a wide range of developmental levels enriches her work at YTE.

Mrs. Littman graduated from Thomas Edison State College with a B.A. in Psychology and earned her M.S. in Special Education in 2001 from Adelphi University.

Rabbi Chaim Helprin

Assistant Principal Upper School and Limudei Kodesh Curriculum Coordinator

chelprin@ytehouston.org

Rabbi Chaim Helprin has worked in the field of education as a rebbe/teacher, student activities coordinator, and middle school coordinator since 2003. Rabbi Helprin learned in Yeshivas Chofetz Chaim for 10 years and received Smicha from Rabbi Zalman Nechemia Goldberg, Av Beth Din, Jerusalem. Rabbi Helprin holds a B.A. in Liberal Arts from Thomas Edison State College, Trenton NJ and a M.A. in Educational Administration from Grand Canyon University.

Mrs. Devorah Ouzzan

Girls Limudei Kodesh Coordinator/Upper School

douzzan@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Devorah Ouzzan began her teaching career as an Early Childhood teacher in Toronto, Canada. She holds a Bachelors Degree from Waterloo University with a focus in social development studies. She has called Houston home since 2013 and has found her passion working as a Judaic studies teacher for both elementary and upper school grades at YTE. 

Mrs. Melissa Truelove

Assistant Principal Elementary School and General Studies Curriculum Coordinator

mtruelove@ytehouston.org

 

 

Mrs. Melissa Truelove has been involved in Jewish education for many years, having attended the Tucson Hebrew Academy originally as a student and over the past ten years as a teacher. She holds a Bachelors Degree from the University of Arizona with a focus on psychology and has taught multiple elementary school grades and subjects for which she has received multiple national awards.

Mrs. Truelove has also served in several leadership roles including curriculum development, leading teacher teams, presenting professional development workshops and mentoring new teachers. 

SUPPORT STAFF

Mrs. Joanna Pines

Director of Development

jpines@ytehouston.org

Ms.Tish Neff

Office Manager

tneff@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Faige Grossman

Student Support Coordinator

fgrossman@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Inna Somorov

Receptionist

isomorov@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Sarah Zelmanowitz

Business Office

szelmanowitz@ytehouston.org

Rabbi Dovid Gewirtz

School Administrator

dgewirtz@ytehouston.org

2019–2020 FACULTY

Mrs. Shannon Ahlstrom

3rd Grade Boy and Girls 
General Studies

sahlstrom@ytehouston.org

Rabbi Aaron Berger

8th Grade Boys
Limudei Kodesh

aberger@ytehouston.org

Rabbi AY Cohen

7th Grade Boys Navi/Halacha

acohen@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Chevi Gewirtz

6th Grade Girls Limudei Kodesh

cgewirtz@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Shira Barkhausen

1st Grade General Studies

sbarkhausen@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Shira Buchwald

Early Childhood - Pre-K

sbuchwald@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Aviva Eisenberger

Kriah Support 

aeisenberger@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Avital Goetz

Early Childhood - Pre-K

agoetz@ytehouston.org

Rabbi Meir Granitsky

Upper School 

Limudei Kodesh/Ivrit

mgranitsky@ytehouston.org

Ms. Hana Karny

1st and 4th Grade Ivrit

hkarny@ytehouston.org

Rabbi Eliezer Kessler

3rd Grade Boys and 4th Grade
Limudei Kodesh

ekessler@ytehouston.org

Ms. Gabbi Ohaya

2nd Grade General Studies

gohaya@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Riva Korn

Early Childhood - Kindergarten Limudei Kodesh

rkorn@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Devorah Ouzzan

5th Grade Girls
Limudei Kodesh

douzzan@ytehouston.org

Mr. Tyrone Tyson

Upper School General Studies

ttyson@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Eileen Weinstein

Upper School Math

eweinstein@ytehouston.org

Ms. Yocheved Bechhofer

2nd Grade Girls Limudei Kodesh

ybechhofer@ytehouston.org

Ms. Miri Brookhim

Early Childhood - Tiny Toddlers

mbrookhim@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Orly Fuerst

Upper School Language Arts

ofuerst@ytehouston.org

Rabbi Binyamin Goetz

1st and 2nd Grade Boys Limudei Kodesh

bgoetz@ytehouston.org

Rabbi Mordechai Kaye

5th Grade Boys Ivrit 

mkaye@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Esther Malky Lam

Early Childhood - Kindergarten General Studies

elam@ytehouston.org

Rabbi Moshe Stewart

5th and 7th Grade Boys
Limudei Kodesh

mstewart@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Fraydee Wender

1st Grade Limudei Kodesh

fwender@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Elisa Behar

Early Childhood - Toddler Bridge

ebehar@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Hadassah Brown

Early Childhood - Nursery/
Aftercare Coordinator

hbrown@ytehouston.org

Ms. Noa Gadot

Ivrit Coordinator

ngadot@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Chaviva Granitsky

3rd Grade Girls 

Limudei Kodesh

cgranitsky@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Shulamis Kaye

4th and 7th Grade Girls 
Limudei Kodesh

skaye@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Carla Moon

Upper School Girls Social Studies

cmoon@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Cathy Tucker

Early Childhood - Toddlers

ctucker@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Christine Wilson

Upper School Science

cwilson@ytehouston.org

Mrs. Chaya Yurowitz

Early Childhood - Nursery

cyurowitz@ytehouston.org